Discovering maker scene in Vilnius

Last week of May I was for the first time in Vilnius (Lithuania) to take part to Mini Maker Faire, invited by  Giedrius Goku and Ieva Marija from M-Lab and Tea Makers within HeiMakers project.

I gave my contribution to the event with a talk titled “Empowering diversity with soft electronics and open source design” and a workshop on building a soft pressure sensor to use with Arduino Lilypad. See page on website.

I also had the pleasure to visit two amazing labs. First PATS SAU Makerspace dedicated to kids and teens inside the Martynas Mažvydas National Library of Lithuania which was hosting the faire. Adriana, one of the two managers of the lab, showed me the workstations and the activities they are running every day allowing members to use the lab for free in the afternoon and accomplish an idea or a collective project.

Then later in the afternoon I could visit Technarium, a special space, out of town, near the forest equipped with metal work hardware, a bio-lab in process, clay oven, tailor lab, co-working, laser-cut,  pick and place… and Simona, one of the founders and manager of the lab was so kind to show me around and answer to all my questions. Join them every month at the Hack and Tell event — a geek party where everyone can present their projects, ask for an advice, meet like-minded people.

Hope to come back to Vilnius  and spend some more time with this vibrant community.

 

Leave a comment